Previewing as another user

You can preview changes to your website without logging out and logging on again as another user. This preview capability enables you to quickly verify that users with different access levels see only content that they are authorized to see. You can preview changes as a specific user or as an unauthenticated user.

While in edit mode, click More, and then click either As User or As Unauthenticated User. The page is updated according to the user that you are impersonating.

To stop previewing, click Stop Previewing.

You can modify the preview function to tailor preview behavior in the following scenario:
  • User1 creates a project and a page within the project. The new page contains a portlet.
  • User1 then attempts to preview the page as User2. In this case, User2 has the permissions to view the page but does not have the permissions to view the portlet that is on the page.
  • User1 receives the following message: You are not authorized to use this portlet. This message displays to make it clear that a portlet is rendered here, if the user has the required permissions.
You can suppress the message in this scenario.

For more information about the access permissions that are required for previewing as another user, see Access control for managed pages.

  1. Log on to the WebSphere® Integrated Solutions Console as an administrator.
  2. Click Resources > Resource Environment > Resource Environment Providers.
  3. Click WP ConfigService, and then click Custom properties.
  4. Click portlets.unauthorized.visible.project. Set the value to false to suppress the message. The default value is true.